





RIS-NIAS Science Diplomacy Programme

Monday, May 7, 2018 Tamarind Hall, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi

AGENDA

9:30 to 10:00	Registration
10:00 to 11:00	Inaugural Session
	Chair: Amb Dr. Mohan Kumar, Chairman, RIS About the Science Diplomacy Project: Prof. Seehin Chaturyedi Director
	About the Science Diplomacy Project: Prof. Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS
	Key Note Address: Shri T. S. Tirumurti , Secretary (ER), Ministry of External Affairs
	Inaugural Address: Prof. Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and Ministry of S&T
	Vote of Thanks: Prof. D. Suba Chandran, International Strategic & Security Studies, National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS), Bangalore
11:00 to 11:15	Tea Break
11:15 to 12:30	Session I: Broader Contours of Science Diplomacy
	 Chair: Amb. Bhaskar Balakrishnan, Former Indian Diplomat Panelists: Dr. R B Grover, Emeritus Professor and Former Director, Homi Bhabha
	National Institute, Mumbai

	Dr. V Siddhartha, Former Secretary SAC-PM and Former Distinguished Scientist DRDO
	 Scientist, DRDO Dr. Malti Goel, Founder, Climate Change Research Institute & Former
	Adviser/ Scientist "G', Department of Science & Technology
	Dr. Pallava Bagla, Science Journalist, NDTV and Columnist, PTI
12:30 to 13:30	Session II: Global Experiences in Science Diplomacy
	Chair: Dr. Sadhana Relia, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India
	Panelists:
	Ms. Tania Friederichs, R&I Counsellor, Delegation of EU to India
	Mr. Pedro Ivo Ferraz da Silva, Head, Energy, Environment and Science,
	Technology and Innovation Section, Embassy of Brazil
	Dr. Ravi Srivastava, First Secretary, Environment, Science and
	Technology, U.S. Embassy
	Dr. Indraneel Ghose, Senior Thematic Advisor for Research, Education and
	Innovation, Embassy of Switzerland in India
13:30 to 14:30	Lunch
13.30 to 14.30	Lunch
14:30 to 15:45	Session III: Relevance of Science Diplomacy in Economic Growth
	Chair: Dr. Arabinda Mitra, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India
	Panelists:
	• Dr. Mukesh Kumar, Director, CEFIPRA
	• Dr Shailja Vaidya Gupta, Sci. G and In-charge (Int. Coop.), DBT
	Dr. Alok R. Chaturvedi, Krannert School of Management, Purdue
	University, Indiana, USA
	Prof. Dinesh Abrol, Professor, ISID
15:45 to 16:00	Concluding Session
	Remarks by:
	Prof. D. Suba Chandran, NIAS
	Dr. K Ravi Srinivas, RIS