





Conference on

Ethics, Equity and Inclusion in Science and Technology: Global and Regional Perspectives

March 6th and 7th 2014, New Delhi Banquet Hall, 3rd Floor, Hotel Ashok, Chanakyapuri New Delhi, India

AGENDA

Day I, March 6th 2014

09:30hrs	:	Registration
10:00 hrs	:	Inaugural Session
		Chair: Ambassador Shyam Saran, Chairman, RIS, India
		Welcome Remarks: Dr. Biswajit Dhar, Director-General, RIS
		Introduction to the Conference: Dr. Miltos Ladikas, Senior Research Fellow, UCLAN, UK
		Remarks: Prof. Jan Staman, Director, Rathenau Institut, The Netherlands
		Keynote Address: Dr. K. Vijay Raghavan, Secretary, Department of
		Biotechnology, Government of India
		Vote of Thanks: Dr. Sachin Chaturvedi, Senior Fellow, RIS
11:00 hrs	:	Tea Break
1115 hrs	:	Session I: Panel Discussion Ethics and Equity in Emerging Technologies and S&T Policy

Chair: Dr. Y.S. Rajan, ISRO, Bangalore

Speakers:

Prof. Jan Staman, Director, Rathenau Institut, The Netherlands

Prof. Cao Nanyan, Tsinghua University, Beijing

Prof. Shiv Vishwanathan, O P Jindal University, Sonepat

Prof E. Haribabu, Pro-VC, Central University of Hyderabad

1215 hrs : Session II: Food Technologies

Chair: Dr. S. R.Rao, Advisor, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India

Speaker: Dr. David Coles, Senior Research Fellow, UCLAN, UK

Discussants:

Mr. A.V. Balasubramaniam, Centre for Indian Knowledge Systems, CIKS, Madras

Dr. Ahmed Fahmi, Programme Specialist, Division of Science Policy and Capacity Building UNESCO, Paris

Dr. G. Pakki Reddy, Executive Director, Agri Biotech Foundation Hyderabad

Prof. T.V Hymavathy, Acharya NG Ranga Agricultural University, Hyderabad

Open Discussion

1315hrs : Lunch

1415hrs : Session III: Nanotechnology

Chair: Dr. Michael Decker, Deputy-Head, ITAS, Germany

Speaker: Dr.Torsten Fleischer, Deputy Head -Research Area - Innovation Processes and Impacts of Technology, ITAS Germany

Discussants:

Prof. W.E Bijker, Maastricht University, The Netherlands

Dr. Praveer Asthana, Nano Mission Director, Department on Science and Technology, Government of India

Prof. Cao Nanyan, Tsinghua University, Beijing

Dr. Kalpana Sastry, Joint Director, National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Hyderabad

Open Discussion

1515 Tea

1530hrs : Session IV: Synthetic Biology

Chair: Dr. Rinie Van Est, Coordinator, Technology Assessment, Rathenau Institut, The Netherlands

Speaker: Dr. Dirk Stemerding , Senior Researcher, Technology Assessment, Rathenau Institut, The Netherlands

Discussants:

Dr. Vasantha Muthuswami, Former DDG, ICMR, New Delhi

Dr.Shahid Jameel, CEO Welcome-DBT Alliance, Hyderabad

Dr. Archana Chugh, Kusuma School of Biological Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Open Discussion

1630hrs : Session V: Building Blocks for Way Forward

Chair: Prof. Zhao Yandong, CASTED, Beijing

Speakers:

Mainstreaming Ethics and Public Engagement in S&T Policy:

Prof. W.E Bijker, Maastricht University, The Netherlands

Road Mapping: Dr. Sachin Chaturvedi, RIS

Discussants:

Dr. Leonhard Hennen Coordinator of the European Technology Assessment Group ITAS, Germany

Prof. Prabhat Ranjan, Executive Director, Technology Information, Forecasting and Assessment Council(TIFAC), New Delhi

Prof. Pranav Desai, JNU, New Delhi

Prof. Dinesh Abrol, Institute of Studies in Industrial Development (ISID),

New Delhi

Open Discussion

1800 hrs. : End

Dinner details to be announced

DAY II, March 7th

0.20 has	Cassian VII. Ethios in Indian COT Daling and Duastics	
9.30 hrs	Session VI: Ethics in Indian S&T Policy and Practice	

Chair: Dr.Biswajit Dhar, DG, RIS

Presentation of Indian Case Study:

Dr.K.Ravi Srinivas, RIS

Discussants:

Prof. Ashok Jain Vice President (Academic Development & Research), EMPI

Business School

Prof. Manmohan Agarwal, Adjunct Senior Fellow, RIS

Dr.Rajeswari Raina, NISTADS, New Delhi

Dr. Lawrence Surendra, Senior Fellow, ICSSR

1045 hrs : Tea Break

11.00 to 12.30 Round table on Communication and Engagement in S&T Policy and Ethics

Presentation by Dr.Miltos Ladikas, UCLAN Presentation by Dr.Sachin Chaturvedi, RIS

Coordinator for the session: Mr. Dinesh C. Sharma, Journalist & Author

12.30hrs : Concluding Session:

Chair: Prof. Doris Schroeder, UCLAN, UK **Valedictory Address:** Prof.P.M.Bharghava

Vote of Thanks: Dr. Sachin Chaturvedi, Senior Fellow, RIS

1330 hrs : Lunch

1430 hrs : Internal Meeting (Project Institutions)