



## Global Pilot Programme on STI for SDGs Roadmaps

## Workshop on Science, Technology and Innovation for Sustainable Development Goals

11 October 2022 India Habitat Centre, New Delhi, India

## Programme (Hybrid)

11 October 2022, Tuesday	
15:30 IST Venue: Juniper Hall	Registration and Tea
Inaugural Session  16:00-16:30 IST  Venue: Juniper Hall	<ul> <li>Welcome Remarks: Professor Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS</li> <li>Chair: Mr Parmeshwar Iyer, CEO, NITI Aayog</li> <li>Special Remarks:</li> <li>Mr Shombi Sharp, UN Resident Coordinator, India</li> <li>Eriko Yamazaki, Deputy Director for International Affairs, Secretariat of Science, Technology and Innovation Policy, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan (online)</li> <li>Mr Hemang Jani, Secretary, Capacity building Commission, Government of India</li> <li>Inaugural Address: Professor Ajay Kumar Sood, Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India</li> </ul>
Session I: STI for SDGs Roadmaps – Experience of Pilot Countries 16:30 -17:30 IST Venue: Juniper Hall	<ul> <li>Co-Chairs:</li> <li>Professor Karim Maredia, Director, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Michigan State University</li> <li>Dr Angela Sarcina, Economic and Policy Analyst, European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Directorate B – Growth &amp; Innovation Territorial Development Unit, Spain</li> </ul>

	<ul> <li>Ethiopia - Dr Desta Abera, Director, Policy, Strategy and Future Planning Directorate in Ministry Innovation and Technology, Ethiopia (online)</li> <li>Ghana - Dr Wilhemina Quaye, Director, Science and Technology Policy Research Institute (CSIR-STEPRI), Accra, Ghana</li> <li>India - Dr Sabyasachi Saha, Associate Professor, RIS</li> <li>Kenya - Professor Tom Peter Ogada, Executive Director, ACST, Kenya (online)</li> <li>Serbia - Professor Viktor Nedovic, Director, Serbia Accelerating Innovation and Growth Entrepreneurship (SAIGE) Project, Serbia (online)</li> <li>Eriko Yamazaki, Deputy Director, International Affairs, Secretariat of Science, Technology and Innovation Policy, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan (online)</li> <li>Mr Vinay Kumar Vutukuru, Senior Agriculture and Rural Development Specialist, World Bank (Online)</li> </ul>
Session II: Indian Initiatives and Perspectives on STI for SDGs  17:30 -18:30 IST  Venue: Juniper Hall	<ul> <li>Chair: Dr Shekhar C. Mande, Former Secretary, DSIR and Former Director General, CSIR</li> <li>Speakers</li> <li>Dr Monoranjan Mohanty, Adviser, Office of Principal Scientific Adviser, Government of India</li> <li>Mr Pradeep Singh, Director, Jal Jeevan Mission – IV, Ministry of Jal Shakti, Government of India</li> <li>Dr Suresh Pal, Former Director, ICAR-National Institute of Agricultural Economics and Policy Research</li> <li>Dr Mamta Agarawal, Founder, WeMR, Skill Foundation. Scientist, Department of Physics, University of Mumbai.</li> <li>Dr Anant Bhan, Mentor and Principal Investigator, Sangath, Bhopal</li> <li>Mr Parminder Jeet Singh, Executive Director and Senior Fellow, IT for Change</li> </ul>
Session III: Consolidating International Initiatives on STI for achieving the SDGs  18:30-19:30 IST Venue: Juniper Hall	<ul> <li>Chair: Mr Naoto Kanehira, Senior Strategy and Operations Officer, World Bank (online)</li> <li>Speakers</li> <li>Dr Wei Liu, Coordinator, UN Inter-agency Task Team on Science, Technology and Innovation for the SDGs (IATT), UNDESA (online)</li> <li>Mr Lukovi Seke, NEPAD (online)</li> <li>Dr George Owusu Essegbey, CEO, CSIR- Technology Development and Transfer Centre (CSIR-TDTC), Accra, Ghana (online)</li> <li>Professor Karim Maredia, Director, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Michigan State University</li> <li>Dr Angela Sarcina, Economic and Policy Analyst, European</li> </ul>

	Commission, Joint Research Centre, Directorate B – Growth & Innovation Territorial Development Unit, Spain  • Mr Mario Cervantes, Senior Economist, Committee for Scientific and Technological Policy (CSTP), Science and Technology Policy Division, OECD (online)
	Chair: Professor Sachin Chaturvedi, Director General, RIS
Valedictory Session 19:30-20:15 IST Venue: Juniper Hall	Views from S20: Professor Narendra Mehra, Vice President, International Affair, Indian National Science Academy  Special Remarks: Shri V.K. Pipersenia, Former Chief Secretary to the Government of Assam  Valedictory Address: Professor K. Vijay Raghavan, DAE Homi
	Bhabha Chair, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru*
20:15 IST Venue: Juniper Hall	Dinner